Wedding Card & Keepsake Boxes

Before I get into today’s post, I want to share a few exciting things that I’ve been working on.  First, I finally got off my bootie and finished a FaceBook page for KMW!  You can now become a fan of Kristy Meinhardt Weddings (and I hope that you will!) by clicking HERE!

In other exciting news, I started 2012 off with a bang professionally by meeting one of my mentors and inspirations, Preston Bailey, at a book signing during the Wedding Faire Santa Clara.  Unfortunately, I could not attend any of the workshops for professionals that weekend so I did not hear Preston speak, but he did sign my copy of his latest book Flowers and I got this lovely picture to mark the occasion!  This is me, in total awe…

IMG_2175


Lastly, I had a great time at the Pleasanton Hilton for the Modern Bridal Faire last weekend!  I met many excited brides-to-be, the entourages that come with them and even a few brave fiancés.  I also reconnected with some great vendors and met a few new vendors that I cannot wait to learn more about.  For my booth, I took a DIY approach, hand-making pretty much everything, even a wedding card box to use as a display for a give-away I had.  Here are a few pictures from the event…

IMG_2222

IMG_2215
IMG_2211

And that’s the perfect lead-in to today’s post.  I have always been a “collector” of things.  I just simply love to keep mementoes that will remind me of the important and joyous times in my life.  And, in the time during which you’re engaged and of course at your wedding and on your honeymoon, you will collect countless things you will want to keep.  Whether it is a ribbon that wrapped a precious gift, a touching note from your grandmother, the sash you wore at your bachelorette party, or a cocktail napkin you saved from your honeymoon…you will need a place to keep it all.

For months after getting back from our honeymoon, I struggled trying to get all my mementos organized.  I finally just put it all in a shoebox and stored it away in my closet.  Then I found a cute little kit to make paper covered drop spine boxes from one of my favorite places in the world, Paper Source.  The following Christmas, I set forth to make these boxes (in my first attempt mind you) as gifts for our family.  My thinking was that we could put the prints that we always give them from the family photo shoot we do every year.  The project was not at all easy and the finished boxes were far from perfect, but I felt they were unique and pretty enough to put on a shelf.

Over the last year, I have worked to perfect my new found craft and made several more boxes to use as gifts and even a few for our new home office.  Thankfully, they got much better!  Then, I started thinking about ways to incorporate these cute little boxes into weddings.  They would make fabulous card boxes I thought, but they’re just too small.

So for Christmas this last year, I again experimented on my family for their gifts.  (My poor family, I’m sure they would much rather just get a gift card to some place fun!)  This time for the project, I had to purchase not only the paper and glues, but also the bookboard that is pre-cut in the kits that I made the other boxes from.  I designed a larger box in the dimensions I thought would work and cut the bookboard myself.  (Truthfully, I cut two pieces of bookboard and then decided to outsource the cutting to Kinkos!)  Let me just say that this project was even more intense than the first!  I made tons of mistakes and again, I wasn’t completely happy with how the boxes turned out.  But I learned a lot too and after some reflection, I knew I could make them better.

Here’s a picture of the final products in my first stab at making the larger box.  I’m suddenly reminded of a quote from one of my favorite movies of all time, Clueless.  “She’s a full-on Monet… From far away, it’s ok, but up close it’s a big old mess.”  These boxes are not bad, just not the best when closely examined.  (Again, family…I’m very sorry!)

IMG_2078

My ultimate goal in creating these card boxes is to make something that will have the look from a couple’s wedding, but that can be used in their home afterward to keep their mementos.  So many times, wedding card boxes are big, expensive and just look too wedding-ish.  I mean, 20 years down the road, do you really want to have a giant box that looks like a wedding cake in your living room?!

When it came time to design my booth for the Modern Bridal Faire, I decided to use what I learned over the holidays and make one of these card boxes as a model in the color palette I was using for my materials.  Then I chose to raffle away a custom-made card box to a lucky couple, which I will design to fit the color palette and/or theme of their wedding.  And to my delight, the display box turned out so much better than I even expected it would!  Here is my final product…

DSCN1883

In addition, I also made six of the smaller boxes to be raffled off by the Modern Bridal Faire folks during the fashion shows.  Hopefully the lucky brides that received these keepsake boxes will find many happy memories to put in them!

I’m in the process of opening an Etsy store for this little idea of mine.  In the meantime, please don’t hesitate to contact me at kristy@meinhardtevents.com if you are interested in a custom-made card box or smaller keepsake box.  I’d be happy to put together some ideas for you!

 

Leave a Reply

