How Pinterest Inspires Me

I don’t know what the folks over in the Pinterest promotions department are doing, but whatever it is…it’s working!  It seems that the site has exploded just in the last month and having mentioned that I’m a Pinterest addict on FaceBook multiple times, I have received many questions from family and friends over the past few weeks.  What is it?  Why should I join?  How do I join?  I requested an invite, but I haven’t heard back.  Etc, etc.

As with countless other Pinterest-ites, Pinterest gives me inspiration in so many ways every single day.  So much so that I want to devote this entire post to the subject in the hope that many of you will join me in this pinning obsession.  And, if interested, you can follow me HERE.  If you need an invite, please just message me at kristy@meinhardtevents.com with your name and email and I’ll gladly send one to you.

Obviously, I love weddings and events so many of my pins are pictures of real weddings, kids parties, styled shoots, DIY projects, invitations, etc.  On Pinterest you can pin any picture that can be found on the web and if you add a pin from an online source, you can get to the source’s website or blog post just by clicking that picture.  Since I spend a good amount of time researching wedding and event blogs every day, this makes the site an excellent way for me to share the ideas I come across with brides, brides-to-be, others planning parties and event enthusiasts such as myself.

Once something has been pinned, it comes up in your newsfeed for the people who are following you.  But it also sometimes comes up on the site’s boards for everyone to see under different categories like architecture, DIY and crafts, food and drink, home décor, kids, weddings and events, to name just a few of my favorites.  I’m not even sure how this happens, but it does.  And it’s great!

To date, my biggest pin has been this one from Preston Bailey’s BRIDE IDEAS blog.

Screen shot 2012-02-15 at 3.11.00 PM

I don’t even really know what it is that I like about this photo.  The little miniature cakes are just so pretty and delicate, I guess.  I remember when I first saw it, I turned to my friend Courtney and said…”This is gorgeous, and it needs to be pinned!”  That was 12 weeks ago.  The picture (and link to Preston’s blog) has been repined 192 times now and liked by 20.  Almost all of those users, I don’t know and a few have even begun following me just because of that photo.  From a business perspective, that’s huge and I can’t wait to pin photos from weddings that I’ve personally worked on.

But Pinterest isn’t just about weddings.  It’s so much more than that actually!  Here are a couple more examples of how I’ve used the site…

I came across this picture and pinned it to show my hair stylist Natalia how I wanted my hair cut.  (As a side note, Natalia is also on Pinterest and uses the site to pin ideas for cuts and colors to use in her new role as an Aveda Color Purefessional.)

Screen shot 2012-02-15 at 4.27.10 PMhttp://www.themommytherapy.com/2011/09/oh-pinterest-dont-stop-or-do-im-not.html?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+TheMommyTherapy+%28The+Mommy+Therapy%29

For Valentine’s Day this year, I made these little edible buttons from square pretzels, Hershey’s Hugs and Valentine’s Day M&Ms.  Cute and super easy to make too!

Screen shot 2012-02-15 at 3.50.12 PMhttp://griffithsrated.blogspot.com/2012/02/valentine-prezel-buttons.html

My in-laws were in town over the holidays last year, so I had a brunch on Christmas morning and made these egg cups with cheese, turkey bacon and spinach.  Again, they were simple enough for me to make (which, if you know me, is a task!) and easy to eat while opening presents.

Screen shot 2012-02-15 at 3.49.10 PMhttp://www.brittanybohnet.com

(This site has since been removed, so the link is no longer available.)

My friends also know that I’m a bit of an exercise enthusiast.  However, my routine is heavy in cardio and severely lacking in strength training (probably because I despise strength training!).  I found this little regimen and decided to give it a try at the beginning of the year.  It only takes about 20 minutes to do three sets, so it’s easy for me to work into my day and I feel like I’m starting to see a difference.

Screen shot 2012-02-15 at 3.51.42 PMhttp://iowagirleats.com/2011/11/11/friday-favorites-11/

I also draw inspiration by what my friends post.  Many of my friends from high school and college are teachers and it’s so great to see them sharing ideas for their classrooms and lesson plans.  (That’s also good for me to start looking at since my D will be entering school before we know it!)

My good friend Jen is a competitive power lifter and she posts so many inspiring before and after photos, workout plans and inspiration.   I love that Pinterest also allows me to get a glimpse into her world, especially since we no longer live in the same city and I miss her terribly.

I also have many photographer friends who post examples of their work, ideas for photo shoots and ways to display photography in your home.  Like this…

Screen shot 2012-02-15 at 3.55.36 PMhttp://tatertotsandjello.com/2012/01/19-ways-to-display-photographs-in-your-home.html?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+blogspot%2FOivM+%28Tatertots+and+Jello%29&utm_content=Google+Reader

Well, I hope I have been able to convince you to join the Pinterest ranks with me!  Again, I can be found on Pinterest HERE and if you need an invite or have any questions at all, please holler!  Happy pinning, everyone!

Leave a Reply

