Weekend Crafting Inspiration: Paper Boxes

Happy weekend and welcome to my first weekend crafting post!  For my first entry, I decided to choose this project because 1) it is super easy and 2) I think it’s really versatile and can be used/modified in many ways.  I also like that it includes baking AND crafting, two of my favorite things right now!

A couple weeks back, I decided to do some baking for our house as well as for a few friends.  My sweet tooth has been a little out-of-control this pregnancy, but I’m trying to stay somewhat healthy too.  I scoured Pinterest for ideas and found two muffin recipes, both incorporating Greek yogurt.  The first was a strawberry muffin and the second was for a yummy blueberry banana bread that I instead made as muffins.  You maybe can tell from the picture, but mini muffins work best for this project, as regular muffins would be too large.

So after baking the muffins, I of course wanted to find some sort of cute and crafty way of giving the muffins to our friends.  Something other than a paper plate of muffins covered with plastic wrap!  And I found this tutorial from Then She Made… to follow.  (Like I said above, it’s super easy.  Probably one of the easiest crafts I’ve ever done.)

Supplies

Supplies:

  • 1 – 12×12 piece of scrapbooking paper
  • Scoring board or crafting mat with ruler
  • Bone folder
  • Hole punch
  • Twine or ribbon
  • Scissors

Instructions:

Using your bone folder, score a line 4 inches in on all sides to form the box.

Next, score a diagonal line in the boxes on each corner.  (If you’re using a scoring board, I put the corner of the paper into the notch at 8.5 inches and lined up the left side as close to that as possible to get a straight line in a 45-degree angle at the corner.)

After you’re done scoring, fold the sides in, including your diagonal lines so that the paper looks like so.

Punch small holes in the inside corner pieces and feed your twine or ribbon through.

Tie a bow and fill with muffins or other goodies.

As I said, I think this is a versatile craft that can be used in many ways.  If you’re planning a large party, like a wedding, it probably isn’t feasible to do something like this as a favor.  (That could drive any bride straight into crazy town in the weeks leading up to her wedding!)  But, I could see modifying it to a smaller version and adding a tag to create a cute favor box for candy or smaller goodies.  If you’ve got out-of-town guests staying at hotels, you could do the larger version with homemade muffins or local baked goods as a welcome gift waiting for them when they arrive.  Or you could do just a few to have in your bridal suite while you’re getting ready.  Possibilities are endless!

Hope you’re all having a fantastic weekend!  See you next week!

3 thoughts on “Weekend Crafting Inspiration: Paper Boxes

  1. Pingback: Weekend Crafting Inspiration: Rope Monograms or Words | kristymeinhardt

Leave a Reply

