Weekend Crafting Inspiration: Yarn Wrapped Bottles

I’ve missed a few weeks of my Weekend Crafting Inspiration (sorry about that), but I’m hopefully making it up to you with this super easy, super fun craft idea!  I found this tutorial for yarn wrapped bottles on Wedding Chicks.  I decided it was a must-do because 1) the bottles are too cute, 2) I can always use a few more bud vases and 3) I go through a yarn-buying phase, where I think I have time to pick up knitting again, at least once a year.  So…I have yarn coming out of my ears!

I used three different types of yarn and I think my favorite was the twine.  I just like the rustic look of it and the texture seemed to hold in place a little better.  While these bottles are easy to do, I’ll warn you that the project is time consuming.  If you’re doing enough for centerpieces for a large party, I recommend giving yourself at least a couple weeks of doing a few at a time.  This was my experience, at least.

Supplies:

  • Bottles
  • Yarn or twine

Tools:

  • Scissors
  • Hot glue gun

Instructions:

With your glue gun, put a small amount of glue just under the rim of the bottle.  Press the beginning of your yarn or twine into the glue, leaving a little tail.

Point the tail of the yarn downward and begin wrapping your bottle, covering the tail.  Continue wrapping.  (It’s slow going at first, but you’ll get faster as you go.)

If you need to take a break (I have a toddler, so I took many breaks!), just use a piece of tape to keep your yarn from unraveling.  You may also want to periodically add small drops of glue to keep the yarn in place, especially when you get to the curve.

Once you get to the end of your bottle, put another drop of glue on the bottom and cut the end after the yarn is set.

Voila!  Now just fill with whatever gorgeous blooms you’d like!  I went to our local farmer’s market and spent just $10 for way more flowers than I needed.

Hope you all have a great weekend!  See you next week!

2 thoughts on “Weekend Crafting Inspiration: Yarn Wrapped Bottles

  1. Pingback: Easy-peasy yarn-wrapped bottles - Fashionholder

  2. Woah! I’m really enjoying the template/theme of this site.

    It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s tough to get that
    “perfect balance” between superb usability and visual appearance.
    I must say you have done a fantastic job with this.
    In addition, the blog loads very fast for me on Chrome.

    Outstanding Blog!

Leave a Reply

