DIY Painted Bottle Centerpieces

If you ever visit my home, you will probably notice that I almost always have fresh cut flowers around the house.  I try to shop our local farmer’s market every week, but if I’m short on time, I will pick up a bunch at the store or even just cut a few blooms from our yard to put in a bud vase.  Anything to have fresh flowers in the house.  So, when I saw this pin for DIY bottle centerpieces, I knew this was something I needed to try.

I’m always for a wedding DIY detail (or any detail for that matter) that you can incorporate into your home after the wedding.  I love the thought of walking into your home after a long day, seeing details from your wedding and immediately being brought back to the happiness of that day.  Plus it just makes economical sense to use your wedding details for more than just a one-time affair.  I think we can all agree that it’s much easier to stomach the cost of such things when you know you’re going to use it again!

I’m not classifying this project as a “Weekend Crafting Inspiration” post because it takes a little more preparation than the others I’ve featured.  It took me about a month to collect as many bottles as I did (just over two dozen).  If you were doing this for a wedding or large event, you would obviously need many more.

Lastly, I need to give huge props to my hubby for helping me get this done.  Since I’m pregnant, it wasn’t a good idea for me to be around the paint fumes so he took care of all the painting for me.  Thank you honey!

Supplies:

  • Recycled glass bottles and jars
  • Paint primer
  • Spray paint

Instructions:

  • Soak bottles in hot water to remove labels and let them sit overnight to fully dry.
  • Spray bottles with paint primer and let dry for an hour or so.
  • Spray bottles with paint and let dry overnight.
  • Touch up, as needed.

Notes:

  • We used a semi gloss white spray paint and went through approximately one bottle of spray paint for 12 recycled glass bottles/jars.  Clear glass takes considerably less paint than the darker glass.  (We put just one coat on the clear glass, versus about three on the green and brown glass.)
  • I found that wine bottle labels were particularly difficult to remove, so I stuck with large Pellegrino bottles that have a similar look to wine bottles, but less hassle when it comes to removing the labels.
  • David wore gloves and did all the painting outside.  We also found it helpful to place the bottles/jars in a cardboard box to be painted so that they would be protected and paint wouldn’t be everywhere.
  • If you’ve hired a floral designer to do other details for your wedding, like the bouquets, I highly recommend ordering the flowers for your DIY bottles from the designer as well.  This will help maintain consistency with the colors and quality of the flowers used throughout your event.

As you can see, this project is pretty simple and straightforward.  I like that you can use these in so many different ways.  For example, you can use just a few of the wider bottles as a table centerpiece with a couple different single bloom arrangements, like so:

Or you can use many of them in various sizes and shapes as centerpieces or in other featured areas of your reception such as a memory table, cake/dessert display or guest entrance table and then on your mantle after the wedding, like so:

Hope this provides DIY brides or event planners with some helpful information.  Wishing you all a very happy and safe Halloween!

- Kristy

One thought on “DIY Painted Bottle Centerpieces

  1. Pingback: How to Paint Mason Jars The Bride Link

Leave a Reply

